The Full Extent of His Love

*image originated here

John 13:1-17

This early posting will get us back on track from the day that I missed 🙂 and I’ll post later today at the usual time. Your prayers for strength and motivation during this semester will be greatly appreciated!

From the context of John, I believe that this particular event happens toward the beginning of the Last Supper but don’t take my word for it as I’m not a professional Biblical scholar and could be way off on that assessment. To further keep the timeline in context, however, I want us to remember that Judas Iscariot is still at the table with Jesus at this point in the meal.

It was just before the Passover Feast. Jesus knew that the time had come for him to leave this world and go to the Father. Having loved his own who were in the world, he now showed them the full extent of his love.

John 13:1

Every time I read that verse I find myself choking back tears. Jesus knows that his time has come. He knows all about the suffering he is about to endure and he knows the death he is going to die. He knows why all this must happen if humanity is going to have a hope of redemption. And here is the really wild part: he loved us enough to go through with it anyway!

The full extent of his love…

The evening meal was being served, and the devil had already prompted Judas Iscariot, son of Simon, to betray Jesus. Jesus knew that the Father had put all things under is power, and that he had come from God and was returning to God; so he got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towl around his waist. Ater that, he poured water into a basin and began to wash his disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel that was wrapped around him.

John 13:2-5

Jesus knew that Judas was going to betray him. Jesus knew that he was and is not only the King of kings but also the Son of God. He knew that everything in existence was and is under his power. Now think of all the earthly leaders you’ve ever heard of…what is their response to their own position of power. Is it to kneel down like a servant and wash their subjects’ feet or is to demand that their subjects grovel at their feet and ‘know their place’ under that leader? Yet the Bible states this as if it is the most natural thing for the King of kings to humble himself and serve in this way as if because he is the King of kings he must serve in this way. Such love is beyond my comprehension, especially when he comes to Judas, the Bible doesn’t mention him specifically but he was at that table too and Jesus didn’t skip any of them!

I understand Peter’s perspective on this moment perfectly…

He came to Simon Peter, who said to him, “Lord are you going to wash my feet?” Jesus replied, “You do not realize what I am doing, but later you will understand.” “No,” said Peter, “you shall never wash my feet.” Jesus answered, “Unless I wash you, you have no part with me.” “Then, Lord,” Peter replied, “not just my feet but my hands and my head as well!” Jesus answered, “A person who has had a bath needs only to wash his feet; his whole body is clean. And you are clean, though not every one of you.” For he knew who was going to betray him, and that was why he said not every one was clean. When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. “Do you understand what I have done for you?” he asked them.

John 13:6-12

The first time I saw The Passion of The Christ I sobbed for hours from the last half of the movie onward. I cried myself to sleep that night. Now after watching it again, I’ve recognized several of the inaccuracies in this artistic account of the last 12 hours of Jesus’ life but that night all I could hear in my heart and my mind over and over again was this question: “Do you understand what I have done for you?” “No Lord, how could I ever understand?”

It surprises me when a man holds open a door for me much less when the King chooses to lay down His life for me! Friends, it is neither low self-esteem nor humility that causes me to tell you now that I am an absolute nobody from nowhere! Beyond a handful of people on this planet, if I were to die in my sleep tonight, no one would notice or care that I was gone. I have not made a difference in my community, my country, or this world that would validate my worth to anyone beyond my own flesh and blood plus one or two friends! Yet the Creator God of the universe suffered and died on my behalf to pay for my wrongdoing!

“No Lord, how could I ever understand what you have done for me?”

I pray this story cuts to your heart. I pray it cuts to your soul and shows you your value in the eyes of God that He would bend down and wash your feet right before suffering and dying to save you!

“You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and rightly so, for that is what I am. Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you should also wash one another’s feet. I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you. I tell you the truth, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.”

John 13:13-17

Not only is this how Jesus loves us, it is how He expects us to love one another! Instead of killing each other over theological disagreements or ignoring each other over petty quarrels he expects us to kneel at each other’s feet in humility and serve one another in love! He commands to do as He has done, laying down our lives for each other.

No servant is greater than his master…

Are we showing the full extent of his love?

One thought on “The Full Extent of His Love

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑